

Minutes of the Second Academic Council (AC) meeting of Shiv Nadar (Institution of Eminence Deemed to be University), held on Monday, 12 December 2022

The Second Meeting of the Academic Council (AC) of 'Shiv Nadar IoE' was held online on 12 December 2022 (Monday). The following members were present in the meeting:

S. No.	Name	Designation
1	Dr. Ananya Mukherjee	Vice-Chancellor
2	Dr. Sandeep Sen	Dean, School of Engineering, SoE; Senior Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
3	Dr. Rajat Kathuria	Dean, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, SoHSS
4	Dr. Sanjeev Galande	Dean, School of Natural Sciences, SoNS, Head, Department of Life Sciences
5	Dr. Suneet Tuli	Dean, Research & Partnerships, Professor, Electrical Engineering, SoE
6	Dr. Dinkar Prasad	Professor & Head, Department of Electrical Engineering, SoE
7	Dr. Sanjeev Yadav	Associate Professor & Head, Department of Chemical Engineering, SoE
8	Dr. Dolly Sharma	Associate Professor & Head, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, SoE
9	Dr. Harpreet Singh Arora	Associate Professor & Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering, SoE
10	Dr. Ghanshyam Pal	Associate Professor & Head, Department of Civil Engineering, SoE
11	Dr. Sudeepto Bhattacharya	Professor and Head, Department of Mathematics, SoNS
12	Dr. Bimlesh Lochab	Professor & Head, Department of Chemistry, SoNS
13	Dr. Anubhuti Maurya	Associate Professor & Head, Department of History & Archaeology, SoHSS
14	Dr. Yasmeen Arif	Professor & Head, Department of Sociology, SoHSS
15	Dr. Vikram Kapur	Professor & Head, Department of English, SoHSS
16	Dr. Partha Chatterjee	Professor & Head, Department of Economics, SoHSS
17	Prof. Atul Bhalla	Professor & Head, Department of Art & Performing Arts, SoHSS
18	Dr. Rajeev Kumar Singh	Associate Dean, Academics & Associate Professor, Computer Science & Engineering, SoE
19	Mr. Sudhir Naudiyal	Registrar, Non-Member



Special Invitees to present the specific agenda item;

S. No.	Name	Designation
1	Dr. Prakash Kumar	Associate Professor, Department of Design, SoHSS
2	Dr. Vikash Kumar	Assistant Professor, Department of Design, SoHSS
3	Dr. Richa Priyadarshini	Associate Professor, Department of Life Sciences, SoNS

Item No. 1 Confirmation of the minutes of the First meeting of the Academic Council of Shiv Nadar (Institution of Eminence Deemed to be University), held on 8 August 2022

The Registrar informed that the minutes of the first meeting of the Academic Council of Shiv Nadar (Institution of Eminence Deemed to be University) held on 8 August 2022 were circulated to the members on 13 September 2022. Since no comments were received, he requested the Chairperson to approve the minutes. The AC then approved the minutes, which are attached as **Annexure 1**.

Item No. 2 To discuss and approve a new program Bachelor of Design (B. Des.) as an exit option at the end of 4 Years leading to Bachelor of Design Undergraduate Degree, or option for an Integrated Bachelor of Design-Master of Design (B.Des-M.Des.) Degree after completion of 5 Years duration, proposed by the Department of Design, School of Humanities and Social Sciences (SoHSS)

Dr. Prakash Kumar, Associate Professor, Department of Design, SoHSS (Special Invitee), had given a detailed presentation before the AC on the proposed 'Integrated Bachelor of Design-Master of Design' (B.Des-M.Des.) Degree program after completion of 5 Years duration as an option to exit at the end of 4 years leading to a 'Bachelor of Design (B.Des) program.' The students admitted into the Bachelor of Design (B.Des) Program can pursue 'Integrated B.Des-M.Des.' after the 6th Semester. It was also proposed that a Teaching Assistantship of 20,000 per month for 11 months starting from the 8th Semester will be paid to such students. The proposed program aims to prepare students to become 'Specialized Generalists.'

Dr. Prakash Kumar also presented the three route admission strategy, i.e. (1) UCEED, (2) JEE Main with paper-2/NID/NIFT/DAT/NATA Exam, and (3) SNU DAT Exam. He informed the members that the idea is to take admission from all three routes initially, but once a good number of students are enrolled, Route 3 will be discontinued. He further briefed the credit requirements, i.e., 158 Credits for B.Des. and a total of 192 (additional 34 credits) requirements for Integrated B. Des-M. Des. Degree. The members suggested adjusting the credit requirements to either 150 or 160, as per Shiv Nadar IoE pattern, instead of the proposed 158 credits for B.Des. Program.



The Chairperson directed the department to prepare a complete summary of the proposal with a comparative chart mentioning the allocation of credits and other details, including the credits requirements for Studio Courses, for approval from the Board of Management (BOM).

The AC, with the observation, approved the proposal after a detailed discussion. The program proposal and viability assessment details are attached as **Annexure-2** and **Annexure-2A**, respectively.

- Item No.3 To discuss and approve the proposed changes in the B. Sc. (Research)
 Biotechnology Curriculum & new courses designed for B.Sc. (Research)
 Chemistry with/without Specialization
 - (a) Proposed changes in the B. Sc. (Research) Biotechnology Curriculum

Dr. Richa Priyadarshini, Associate Professor, Department of Life Sciences, SoNS (Special Invitee), presented the proposed changes in the B. Sc. (Research) Biotechnology Curriculum before the AC.

After a detailed discussion, the AC approved the changes in the B. Sc. (Research) Biotechnology Curriculum. The revised curriculum structure with the proposed changes approved by the AC is attached as **Annexure-3** for details.

(b) New courses designed for B.Sc. (Research) Chemistry with/without Specialization

Dr. Bimlesh Lochab, Professor and Head, Department of Chemistry, SoNS, presented the proposed changes made in B.Sc. (Research) Chemistry with/without Specialization. She briefed the AC regarding the minor changes made in the B.Sc. (Research) Chemistry without specialization vis-à-vis expanding the availability of elective courses at the UG level and the minor modification in existing course content.

The following **three Specialization** in the B.Sc. (Research) Chemistry were also discussed;

- 1. Materials Chemistry
- 2. Computational Chemistry
- 3. Chemical Biology

The above was discussed in detail and approved by the AC. The approved curriculum structure is attached as **Annexure-** 4.



Any other item with the permission of the Chair

Dr. Rajat Kathuria, Dean School of Humanities and Social Sciences (SoHSS) requested the Chair to allow the following items under any other item which was permitted.

1. Proposal to change the department name from Department of Art and Performing Arts to Department of Art, Media, and Performance

Prof. Atul Bhalla, Professor and Head, Department of Art and Performing Arts, briefed the Academic Council regarding renaming the Department of Art and Performing Arts to the Department of Art, Media, and Performance. He further explained that the proposed renaming had been considered since the Department of Communication was merged with the Department of Art and Performing Arts.

The AC approved the same, and the Vice Chancellor directed the Registrar to report the change to the Board of Management.

2. Introduction of "Art Minor" by the Department of Art, Media, and Performance at the Undergraduate level

Prof. Atul Bhalla also briefed the AC regarding introducing the "Art Minor" in the Department of Art, Media and Performance. He informed that the same was approved by the School's Board of Studies in its meeting held on 6 December, 2022.

After a detailed discussion, the AC approved the 'Art Minor.' Please see Annexure -5.

Since there was no item to be discussed, the meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

Dr. Ananya Mukherjee Vice Chancellor- Chairperson